What Does Your Horn Sound Like?

In order to save miles on our family car, we rented a car for our recent trip to Philly over the 4th of July weekend.   At some point during the drive up, I happened to hit the horn. What came out of that car was enough to make all of  us bust out laughing (LLOL – literally laugh out loud).

It was the lamest, weakest, “tinniest” sounding horn that I have heard in my life. Ever.  I wish I could insert a sound here as opposed to a picture, but it was similar to “mmmeep-mmeep”.   If I blew that horn in downtown Philly, I would be laughed out of the city. It didn’t say  “watch out!” or “get out of my way”. It said anything but “take me seriously”. It sounded twin city sam kristen daukascheap, it sounded insincere and it sounded hollow.

Why am I telling this story?  Because lately there has been a HUGE amount of companies/agencies/consultants/GURUS rolling out social media marketing packages that are nothing short of a joke.  I’m not sure if they’re clueless of what to charge or if they’re going for the extremely budget conscious client.

I do know this.. no one is taking them seriously. These are the same folks that slap a “guru” onto their LinkedIn or Twitter profile.  I feel quite certain that once the economy turns around most likely, they won’t be around to toot that horn.  Which will leave their clients in a bit of a quandary..

I don’t aim to have a horn that sounds like a Mack Truck (although plenty would say that’s how I am but that’s another story) but I will make sure that my agency is a solid Chrysler 300.

I believe that social media and digitial marketing are just like everything else – you get what you pay for. I’m not the cheapest in town and I’m not the most expensive.  Knowing what I do for my clients, I’m hard pressed to believe that one of the discount agencies is willing to do what I do for $30 a month. I know that our area can’t carry the national average of $3,000 a month, but that’s a big gap don’t you think?

So tell me.. what’s you horn sound like?

Kristen Daukas

Twin City SAM

@TwinCitySAM

Leave a Reply

